Image

Why give thanks on Thanksgiving?


I mean, think about it. Why give thanks on Thanksgiving? OK, sure, it’s a tradition. But really, why not give thanks every day…or any day? As I get older and see things through an ever evolving lens, I find myself trying to recognize the good things in my life and in our world, rather than worrying about problems or dwelling on the negative. Now, I would be lying if I said I never worry or dwell on the negative, but I do think that happens for less and less.

Each day I try to find a few moments to take inventory, recognize the good and the positives in my life, and to appreciate them. I try to think about my behaviors at work, at home, and when I’m out and about in the world in general. Am I living a life each day that I can feel good about? Am I seeing the good around me and appreciating it? What could I have done differently to make my life, and the lives of those I come in contact with just a little bit better? Have I done anything that I need to address that I might have regrets about later?

When I really take time to reflect, and to be thankful, I find that I am thankful for so much. I am thankful for a wife who is my partner and my best friend. I am thankful for our three kids who are all unique and have special gifts to offer. I am thankful for my extended family, even though I don’t see them often. I am thankful for a job that, while sometimes challenging, is so fulfilling that I honestly enjoy going to work every day. I’m thankful for a team of staff that really care about the work they do and help me to be a better leader. I’m thankful for a boss who respects my capabilities and calls me out only when absolutely necessary. I’m thankful for a group of peers that I trust to have my back. I’m thankful for our new home that is just big enough to meet our needs now and is also a lot easier to keep clean than the last place! I’m thankful for our pets because, well, just because they are each an important part of our family. There is more, really, a lot more.

You know what? I am also thankful on Thanksgiving because:

1. I get to spend time with my entire family, even if only for a long weekend

2. I love turkey and with all of the fixings (and pumpkin pie…I REALLY love pumpkin pie!)

3. It inspired me to write this post and to share more about my every day gratitude

So, sure, why not? Let’s keep giving thanks on Thanksgiving. But let us not forget that we can be thankful every day…or any day. Life is short. Enjoy the good. And give thanks.

Leave a Reply

